CLIMATE ZONES are the 16 geographic areas of California for which the Commission has established typical weather data, prescriptive packages and energy budgets.  Climate zones are defined by ZIP code and listed in Reference Joint Appendix JA2 FIGURE 100.1-A is an approximate map of the 16 Climate Zones.