5.11      Indoor Lighting Compliance Documents

5.11.1        Overview

This subchapter describes the documentation (compliance forms) required for compliance with the nonresidential indoor lighting requirements of the Energy Standards.

5.11.2        Submitting Compliance Documentation

At the time a building permit application is submitted to the enforcement agency, the applicant also submits building plans and energy compliance documentation. This section describes the recommended compliance documentation (forms) for complying with the nonresidential indoor lighting Energy Standards. It does not describe the details of the requirements.

This section is addressed to the person preparing building plans and compliance documents, and to the enforcement agency plan checkers who are examining those documents for compliance.

5.11.3        Separately Documenting Conditioned and Unconditioned Spaces

The nonresidential indoor lighting requirements are the same for conditioned and unconditioned spaces. However, the Energy Standards do not allow lighting power trade-offs to occur between conditioned and unconditioned spaces. Therefore, most nonresidential indoor lighting compliance forms are required to be separately completed for conditioned and unconditioned spaces.

5.11.4        Compliance Documentation Numbering

Following is an explanation of the nonresidential lighting compliance documentation numbering:

      NRCC         Nonresidential Certificate of Compliance.

      NRCA         Nonresidential Certificate of Acceptance.

      NRCI           Nonresidential Certificate of Installation.

      LTI              Lighting, Indoor.

      LTO            Lighting, Outdoor.

      LTS            Lighting, Sign.

      E                Primarily used by enforcement authority.

      A                Primarily used by acceptance tester.

5.11.5        Certificate of Compliance Documents

There is only one nonresidential indoor lighting Certificate of Compliance documentation (form) required to be filled out for each project.

    NRCC-LTI-E; Certificate of Compliance; Indoor Lighting.

5.11.6        Certificates of Installation Documents

There are six different Certificates of Installation listed as follows. See Section 5.4.7 of this chapter for additional information.

    NRCI-LTI-01-E, Certificate of Installation, Indoor Lighting.

    NRCI-LTI-02-E, Certificate of Installation, Lighting Control Systems.

    NRCI-LTI-04-E, Certificate of Installation, Two Interlocked Lighting Systems.

    NRCI-LTI-05-E, Certificate of Installation, Power Adjustment Factors.

    NRCI-LTI-06-E, Certificate of Installation, Additional Video Conference Studio Lighting.

The Certificates of Installation are primarily used as declarations, signed by a person with an approved license, that what was claimed on the Certificates of Compliance is actually what was installed.

The required nonresidential indoor lighting Certificates of Installation include the following:

    NRCI-LTI-01-E - must be submitted for all buildings. This is the general Certificate of Installation used to declare that what was proposed in the Certificates of Compliance is actually what was installed.

In addition to the NRCI-LTI-01-E, the following Certificates of Installation are also required if the job includes any of the measures covered by these Certificates of Installation. If any of the requirements in any of these Certificates of Installation fail the respective installation requirements, then that application shall not be recognized for compliance with the lighting standards.

These additional Certificates of Installation are different than Certificates of Acceptance, in that Certificates of Installation consist primarily of declarations that each of the minimum requirements has been met, while Certificates of Acceptance include tests which must be conducted.

    NRCI-LTI-02-E - Must be submitted whenever a lighting control system, and whenever an Energy Management Control System (EMCS), have been installed to comply with any of the lighting control requirements.

    NRCI-LTI-04-E - Must be submitted for two interlocked systems serving an auditorium, a convention center, a conference room, a multipurpose room, or a theater to be recognized for compliance.

See Section 5.6.4 of this chapter for two interlocked system requirements.

    NRCI-LTI-05-E - Must be submitted for a Power Adjustment Factor (PAF) to be recognized for compliance.

See Section 5.6.5 of this chapter for requirements of PAFs.

    NRCI-LTI-06-E - Must be submitted for additional wattage installed in a video conferencing studio to be recognized for compliance

5.11.7        Certificate of Acceptance

Acceptance requirements ensure that equipment, controls, and systems operate as required and specified. There are three steps to acceptance testing:

    Visual inspection of the equipment and installation.

    Review of the certification requirements.

    Functional tests of the systems and controls.

Third-party review of the information provided on the Certificate of Acceptance forms is not required for lighting.

Individual acceptance tests may be performed by one or more field technicians under the responsible charge of a licensed contractor or design professional, (responsible person) eligible under Division 3 of the Business and Professions Code, in the applicable classification, to accept responsibility for the scope of work specified by the Certificate of Acceptance document. The responsible person must review the information on the Certificate of Acceptance form and sign the form to certify compliance with the acceptance requirements. Typically, the individuals who participate in the acceptance testing/verification procedures are contractors, engineers, or commissioning agents. The individuals who perform the field testing/verification work and provide the information required for completion of the acceptance form (field technicians) are not required to be licensed contractors or licensed design professionals. Only the responsible person who signs the Certificate of Acceptance form certifying compliance must be licensed.

The acceptance tests required for nonresidential indoor lighting include the following:

    Lighting controls.

    Automatic daylighting controls.

    Demand responsive lighting controls.

    Institutional tuning for power adjustment factor.

Instructions for completing the Certificates of Acceptance are imbedded in the certificates.

See Chapter 13 of this manual for additional information about acceptance requirements.